Called to be a teacher

There’s no doubt in my mind that God has called me to be a teacher. As I progress further along in my classes and get involved more in public schools in the area I know this is where He wants me. The passion is there. As I get ready to close out my sophomore year I look back on my education classes this semester and all I have learned. I never would have imagined this much training and effort went into teaching. It’s definitely not an easy profession and not an easy major. But I have loved every minute of it so far. This is what I’m supposed to be doing. Without a doubt.

I was going to put a picture here but it won’t let me right now. 😦

As most of you know, there’s a possibility of a baby within a couple of years (God willing). I’ve been asked by several people what I plan on doing as far as school and work goes. If I’m still in school when our first child comes, I will STAY in school. Not only because I want to be a teacher, but because what I’m learning will help me better raise our children. Several of my friends have had babies and stayed in school. It’s possible. A few people have looked down on me because of that, but I know that’s what God wants. I can do it. And, while it will be a LOT of work, I’m willing to fight for it. Now if a baby doesn’t come until after graduation and I’m working, I’ll probably take off until he or she is old enough for K-4. But I will definitely want to continue teaching. I don’t think being a stay-at-home mom is right for me. Teaching will give me hours where I’m home with my kids and they won’t have to be in daycare. And it will give me the opportunity to fulfill both of my callings – teaching and motherhood.

Now I don’t say any of this to hint around that I’m pregnant. I’M NOT. But I am considering all possibilities so that we can do what’s best for any future children God blesses us with. For now I’m just seeking His will and doing everything I can to please Him: the rest is up to God.

Leave a Reply

