Teacher Assisting

On Tuesday and Thursday mornings I help teach the second grade classes at St. John’s Christian Academy.

I get up at 6:45am in order to be in out the shower so Craig can get in when he gets up. As I get up I think about how stupid I am to volunteer to help teach at a school that won’t get counted for practicum hours this semester. I think about how ridiculous I was to give up my only days to sleep in and catch up on housework to go work with a bunch of seven-year-olds.

Then I get to school where I am greeted with lots of hugs and “Hi Mrs. Moss”es, and the genuine thanks from teachers who are trying to get everything done. I realize that I say this a lot, but THIS is what God wants me to do with my life. There are a lot of things I enjoy doing that I wouldn’t mind making a career out of, but this is my calling. This is the only way I can truly fulfill God’s will for my life: to teach.

I don’t know when that door will open. I don’t know if God wants me working when our kids are young or if I am to wait until they’re in school. I don’t know if I’m supposed to teach right after college or let things settle down first. I don’t know if I’ll teach in Dorchester, Summerville, or Berkeley County. There are a lot of unknowns. But one thing I DO know is that I am called to teach.

It takes a special person to teach. And if you had asked me four years ago if I would end up being a teacher I would have thought you were out of your mind. Shoot, if you ask me while I’m running from class to class if I think it’s really worth it I would hesitate a minute before answering. But being in the classroom and being surrounded by students has helped me realize that this is who I was meant to be. This is where I’ll make my dent in the world.

I am first and foremost a Christian. And then I am a wife and hopefully, eventually, a mother. But beyond my immediate area of influence lies the children in the school systems whose lives are dependent on the education they get while they are young. And that’s where I come in. Eventually.

One thought on “Teacher Assisting

  1. I got a little chuckle at the “Mrs. Moss” thing. “Mrs. Moss” is Granny! 😀

    Glad you’re enjoying your volunteering. It’ll probably be good experience for you in the long run — necessary or not!

Leave a Reply

