My first ER trip as a married woman

And I wasn’t even going for myself! There’s the big surprise.

I was woken up around 3am this morning by my poor hubby rubbing my arm. It’s amazing he even got me awake! I stirred a bit and looked over and couldn’t find him! I shook myself awake and sat up and noticed that he was kneeling and the floor with his upper body laying over the bed. Obviously I knew something wasn’t right. When I asked him if he was okay he didn’t say anything. I asked him what was wrong and he said he had a horrible pain in his back and couldn’t move. Inside, I FREAKED OUT! Here’s my husband waking me up (which he hates doing for any reason), only half laying in the bed (that image is burned in my mind) and telling me he’s in pain. (Need I remember all you Moss people that our men never admit when they’re in pain?! Obviously, this was the kicker that something was wrong. My husband was almost in tears he was hurting so bad. It made me want to cry for him. I don’t think I’ve ever woken up that fast in my life!

So I calmly asked him where he was hurting and he said it was his left kidney. He told me if it didn’t get better in a little bit he wanted to go to the doctor. Well, we didn’t wait that long. I got dressed and helped him get dressed (which again almost brought him to tears) and off we headed for the ER. For a minute I thought I was going to have to call my dad to help me get him down the stairs. But he made it. And off to the ER we went.

They did an MRI to look for kidney stones but didn’t see anything. The doctor said he had all the symptoms of one, so he thinks he must have passed it right before we left for the ER. Craig thinks they just didn’t see it. He’s still hurting pretty badly.

I have three pain meds I need to pick up for him today and we’ll get him nice and doped up on meds. 🙂

I don’t think he knew what to do about me following him through the ER the whole time. He’s used to being away from home and doing it all himself with broken ankles. 🙂 I feel asleep to him holding my hand. That was sweet. And he thanked me. And if I would have told him “no I won’t take you to the doctor”. Dummy. I would do anything for that man! Even if it means giving up two hours of sleep.

I didn’t thank him for waiting until Thursday morning to do this and not Wednesday morning. If I had had to be in class from 9 to 7:30 on only 4 hours of sleep, I would not have made it!

One thought on “My first ER trip as a married woman

  1. Haha. I remember once when he was having a broken ankle episode – in the fall of 2002 – I had to go over and stay a few nights with him because he was in a good deal of pain. You’re right. It’s like he doesn’t know how to accept help! 🙂

    Let me know if I can do anything for y’all.

Leave a Reply

