The Dreaded Presentation


I had to read Caddie Woodlawn (how strange is it that there’s no underline button?!) for my Kiddie Lit class this semester and yesterday I had to give a book talk about it. I’ve decided that Book Talks are no fun at all! You see, they require me to get up in front of the class and speak. I HATE PUBLIC SPEAKING! I’ll get up in front of thirty fourth graders any day, but ask me to get up in front of thirty college students and talk and I completely FREAK OUT.

Well, yesterday was the day of the Book Talks. And I spent all day yesterday feeling sick to my stomach. I had to make my book interesting. And my book wasn’t interesting. I had to make people want to read it. I didn’t want to have to subject anyone to that kind of torture. But, I somehow made it interesting. And I got to bring my gigantic stuffed horse with me as a prop! That was fun. 🙂 Turns out I did really well, as I always do with these things. I’ve been told multiple times that I’m a very good public speaker. But I HATE it and I’m so glad yesterday is gone!

Leave a Reply

