Chicken Enchiladas!

These are VERY good.

Ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 (4 ounce) can diced green chile peppers, drained
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup Monterey Jack Cheese and 1/2 cup cheddar, divided
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 4 (10 inch) flour tortillas (I used whole grain tortillas)
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup salsa

  1. Place the chicken breast halves into a saucepan, and fill with enough water to cover. Bring to a boil, and cook until the chicken is cooked through, about 20 minutes. Remove from the water, and set aside to cool.
  2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  3. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the green chilies, jalapeno, pepper, and onion. Cook and stir for a few minutes, until fragrant, then stir in the cream cheese and half of the Monterey Jack/Cheddar mixture. As the cheese begins to melt, gradually stir in the water. Shred the chicken meat, and stir into the skillet. Remove from the heat.
  4. Spoon the chicken mixture into tortillas, and roll up. Place the rolls seam side down in a 9×13 inch baking dish. Sprinkle the remaining Monterey Jack cheese over the top, then pour the cream and tomatoes all over.
  5. Bake, covere for 30 minutes in the preheated oven, and then bake for 10 minutes, uncovered, or until the enchiladas are golden brown on the top.
2 thoughts on “Chicken Enchiladas!

  1. Yummy!!

    Last night, I made some ribs (BOGO at Piggly Wiggly!!) and they were AWESOME! I was kinda surprised. This was my first time ever making them. (Kyle has made them before in the summer when we’re grilling out, but … not me.) And while I was eating them, I thought, “I need to share this recipe with Amy!”

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Honey-Barbecued-Spare-Ribs/Detail.aspx?prop31=1

    I didn’t have any soy sauce, so I used what I had left of a bottle of teriyaki marinade and it was still awesome!!

  2. Yummy! I love chicken enchiladas. Thats funny I just made them last week. Your recipie is different. I just might check it out.

    Since you are a “foodie” too, i wanted to see if you have ever had rice stuffing. My dad said he used to have it as a kid and wants it for thanksgiving this year. From what i can tell its just rice instead of bread. you have hear of this?

Leave a Reply

