Our TTC Journey

I’m 11 weeks pregnant today! Two more weeks and I’ll be out of the first trimester. 🙂

I’m going to tell our trying to conceive journey to give all my girls out there some hope! I came off birth control in January and the trying process began. By March my cycles were extremely irregular so I started charting my temperature as soon as I would get up in the morning. I was obsessed with it. It helped pinpoint when I ovulated, but only AFTER the fact. My cycles were still crazy, so it was hard to figure out the best time to “do the deed”. I tried OPKs for a while, but they were never coming out positive, and I knew I was ovulating. About five months after coming off birth control I had two anovulatory cycles that scared the crap out of me. After that I had a lengthy 54 day cycle that freaked me out even more. My cycles slowly started to get shorter and we decided to try “baby dancing” every other day. Well, I won’t lie, that got old fast and made us both cranky. Our tenth month of trying left me with no hope. We got into a huge fight because we were both just so frustrated with trying, and that was the end of that. Well, I finally ovulated at a normal time and apparently we caught the window despite our argument because at 10 days past ovulation I started feeling grossly icky. I stayed home from church that next Sunday because I felt so bad and tested that night. BFP! I then tested the next morning with two more tests just to be sure. 🙂 8 weeks later, here we are, 11 weeks pregnant.

I write all that to give my friends hope. I know we didn’t really have any “problems”, but we felt the same frustrations and ended up making the TTC process more of a chore than a joy. It took my body 10 months to regulate after coming off birth control. We waited a lot longer than I ever would have thought. But the frustration and sorrow was worth it. We’re going to have a baby!

2 thoughts on “Our TTC Journey

  1. Pingback: Nathan’s Story Part 1 « A Day In My Life

Leave a Reply

