Seventeen Weeks.

I had another prenatal appointment today. It was very uneventful and boring, but that’s always a good thing, right? I still weight 140 which means I’ve gained no weight other than making up for what I lost when I was sick. And my midwife said that’s perfectly fine and even was impressed. She told me that since I’m small, it’s fine if I only gain 25 pounds instead of the recommended 35. Yay! That means less to lost once Baby gets here. Anyway. We got to hear the heartbeat, which was amazing as always. 🙂 154 beats per minute.

According to the books and websites, at seventeen weeks Baby is the size of a pomegranate. He can hear and respond to sounds. I’ve started reading to him and talking to him, because that’s SO important for the development of his brain. It’s amazing what you learn when you’re studying to be a teacher! A child has more brain cells at 2 than any other later age. And if those brain cells aren’t being used by age 2, they die. That’s why it’s so important to start reading and teaching kids when they seem to be too young to “learn”. You’re still engaging those brain cells through them listening, even in the womb. So read to your kids! Even if you think they’re too young to understand what you’re reading.

Leave a Reply

