Infertility

Sometimes I just get mad.

I met my friend S on the trying to conceive message board I used to be apart of.  She and her husband started trying to get pregnant around the same time that Craig and I did, so we shared that struggle for quite some time.  They’ve been diagnosed with “unexplained infertility” and are now going through some medical procedures to try and reach their dream of having a baby.  This was their first month doing the IUI and I was REALLY hoping for a BFP for her this cycle!  Her temps are steady and her body seems to have responded to everything well.  It’s still a bit early, but so far, nothing.  And that upsets me.

It upsets me that teenage girls can get pregnant and abort a baby without a second thought, but those who really want a child have to struggle to see that dream become a reality. I dealt with this a lot when we were trying to get pregnant.  It took us 10 months to conceive Nathan.  I cried myself to sleep many nights wondering if I would ever become a mother.  I know that God has a plan and I know that the struggles Craig and I went through made us stronger and made us love and cherish this baby so much more…but I don’t want anyone else to have to go through those emotions!  I want S to get her positive test and have that baby that she deserves!  It’s been over a year for them. I just can’t comprehend having to wait that long for something you already love so much.  And it makes me sad that they’re still waiting.

And so all I can do is pray. S, I pray for you and your future baby every day. I know that one day you will be a great mother, and I’m praying that day comes very soon!

2 thoughts on “Infertility

  1. Amy, you are so sweet. We have very similar feelings on this topic. And I can’t help but feel guilty that I’m expecting…

    Infertility is so unfair- I still can’t believe that it took us so long to get pregnant- one year off b/c and one loss later- here we are- but I am still so scared that something will happen- and it will be another year.

    S is blessed to have you in her life.

Leave a Reply

