Darn Good Muffins!

I rarely make breakfast.  Craig doesn’t usually eat it and I’m content with a bowl of cereal.  However, I’ve been in a baking mood.  But we’re out of almost everything I would need to make a cake or pie and I’m sick of cookies.  So I made muffins for breakfast.  And they were good!  I’ve never made muffins from scratch, but this recipes was SOOO easy.  I found a base recipe on Allrecipes.com and added some stuff to it.  Here’s what I did:

COCONUT ALMOND MUFFINS:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • A couple of shakes of cinnamon
  • 1 cup coconut
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds

Combine dry ingredients except coconut and almonds.  Make a well in the center.  In a separate bowl, beat egg.  Add milk and oil.  Pour wet ingredients into well and mix quickly with a fork.  Do not overmix.  Batter will be lumpy.  Add coconut and almonds.  Using an ice cream scoop, scoop muffin mix into greased muffin tins.  Top with extra coconut if desired.  Bake at 400 degrees for 18 minutes.

Tip:  to make muffins dome, preheat oven to 425.  As soon as you put the muffins in the oven, turn it down to the original temp.  The initial higher heat will help the muffins dome.

Leave a Reply

