Why My Husband is Amazing

(Well,  one reason why.  I don’t have time for all of them!)

If you’ve been following my blog for any amount of time recently you will remember that I’ve been swamped with projects.  The end of the semester always brings stress, but this semester has been worse than usual when it comes to work loads.  Anyway.

I had a huge paper/project due last night.  16+ pages.  I stayed home from volleyball the week before so that I could finish it up and not have to worry about it.  I spent ALL DAY on it and got it finished.  I saved it and enjoyed not having to worry about it the rest of the week.  If only that were the end of the story.

But it’s not.  Sunday night we were going to my parents’ house for dinner so I went to upload my paper to my email so that I could print it when I got to their house.  Here’s where tragedy strikes.  My paper was missing.  As in NOT THERE.  Anywhere.  I knew I had saved it, so I started looking around thinking maybe I saved it under a weird name.  Nope.  I kept looking.  I opened every document that had ever been saved on my computer (I’ve only had it a year, so this didn’t take a horribly long time) in case it replaced an old file or something.  Nope.  I made the mistake of thinking about how long it would take to re-write and started freaking out.  I remembered that I hadn’t checked my recycling bin yet, so I hurried to that folder to check it out.  Not there.  Craig was out playing tennis with my dad at this point, so I couldn’t get him to help me.  I figured I’d wait until he got home and hand it all over to him.  But then I went back to thinking about how long I had spent on it and how I wouldn’t get any sleep that night if I had to re-write it all less than 24 hours before it was due.  And the floodgates opened.  I was sobbing.  Poor puppy didn’t know what to think.  Reading over this, a missing paper doesn’t sound very tragic.  But believe me, when you’re a hormonal pregnant woman who’s stressed about school, a missing 16 page paper seems like the end of the world. 

But wait.  It gets worse.  This is the bad part.  I almost gave my husband a heart attack.  He called to me they were done playing tennis and he was going to come pick me up and we would head over to my parents’ for dinner.  As soon as I picked up the phone he knew something was wrong.  I was so freaked out and crying so hard that all I could get out was “I need you to come home now.”  Before I could choke anything else out he hung up.  It was then I realized that he probably thought something was going on with the baby.  So I tried calling him back.  No answer.  I tried again.  Still no answer.  Less than three minutes later he comes running in the door with the most panicked look on his face.  And I felt absolutely horrible.  I managed to choke out that I lost my paper and I thought he was going to strangle me.  🙂  My dad ended up riding home with him and had to keep telling Craig that he wouldn’t do me or the baby any good if he got in an accident.  Apparently he ended up going 70 on the way home.  😦  Anyway.  Back to the paper.

He spent a few minutes looking through my computer and after he calmed me down we decided to head on over to my parents’ and get some dinner and search for it there.  He ended up spending a good two hours looking for it with no luck.  He found a program that would scan my hard drive and after letting it run for a bit we found the paper.  I went to restore it and the program wouldn’t let us because we had the free version.  If I wanted my paper I would have to pay $80 for it.  No thanks!  So we got home, I pulled up the preview version of my paper (it was the whole paper, I just couldn’t copy/paste/print it) and retyped it on Craig’s computer.  It took a while, but not nearly as long as it would have taken had I needed to rewrite it completely.

Little side note: Craig stayed up with me while I retyped it all.

And we were still in bed by 11:30.  And I learned one important lesson:  when talking to my husband, always preface any bad news with “it’s not the baby”. 

Anywa.  That forever long story is why my husband is my hero.  Because of him I was able to get sleep Sunday night!

One thought on “Why My Husband is Amazing

  1. Hahaha! I’m sure it wasn’t funny in the moment, but in hindsight, him driving 70 mph up Main Street is pretty hilarious. Gosh, to hear the thoughts going through his mind in those three minutes …

    When I was in college, I lost a 20-page Psychology Project (I had been working on it for the whole weekend without stopping, and when I hit Save THE LAST TIME, my whole computer shut down. AGH!). He helped me retrieve it over the phone. The man knows his computers, now!

    And I’m glad he didn’t have a heart attack in the process! 🙂 It’s a good pointer for all of us — “It’s not the baby, but hurry anyway!”

Leave a Reply

