I’m So Domesticated

Yesterday I bought a roasting chicken from the store.  They’re so much cheaper than the boneless, skinless chicken I usually buy that decided to try my hand at cooking one.

It was quite interesting considering that I HATE raw chicken.  It totally grosses me out.  And here I bought a whole one that needed to be cleaned and cooked.  What was I thinking?  But I conquered the task and we had delicious roasted chicken for dinner.  And there’s enough leftovers to make chicken enchiladas tomorrow AND some chicken salad.  Yay!

But that’s not all.  After I pulled the meat from the chicken I used to carcass to make homemade chicken stock.  Yes, you read that right.  I made chicken stock.  And it smells delish.  I’ll be using some of it for the enchilada sauce and the rest will be frozen to use later on.

So, that $4.88 chicken I bought will get us meat for three meals and about 8 cups of chicken stock.  Quite a good investment!

Yes, I’m a frugal nerd.  🙂

2 thoughts on “I’m So Domesticated

  1. Yeh, your mom is kinda nerdy! 😀

    Just kidding! She called me yesterday to see how my appointment went. How sweet is she?! Totally NOT a nerd!

    Anyway. We do the same thing buying a rotisserie chicken. For just a few cents more (at Walmart — they’re more expensive at Piggly Wiggly and BiLo), you don’t have to handle raw meat and it’s ready to eat when you get it home! haha!!

Leave a Reply

