Update

Here’s a Nathan update to cheer me up.

He’s doing great!  We’ve been nipple-shield-free for over a week now.  I can definitely tell that he’s getting more to eat now without it.  I fully expect him to be more than 25th% at his next visit (more than a month from now).  My letdown is so strong that you can hear the poor guy gulping and moaning trying to keep up.  It’s quite cute.  🙂  He rolls his eyes and raises his eyebrows as if to tell me “slow down Mom, I’m only a little guy!”  But he keeps up just fine and is eating a ton.  His latch is great.  I’m still sore, but getting better every day.

He smiles a lot now.  And he’s constantly cooing and making noise.  He’s got this new thing going where he’ll purse his lips together and blow a TON of spit bubbles.  It’s so adorable.  He gets his chin covered in drool.  I’m going to have to start keeping a bib on him just so his clothes don’t get soaked.

He’s sleeping through the night consistently now!  He’s dropped his late feeding as well.  He eats at 9:30, goes to bed at 10:30 and doesn’t wake up until 6:30.  He’s sleeping 8 hours a night now!!  Go Nathan!  (We used to have to pop his paci in his mouth a couple times during the night, but we don’t have to do that anymore.  If he gets fussy, he finds his thumb quickly and settles back down.)  I feed him at 6:30 and he goes back to sleep.  This allows Craig and I to get ready before he wakes up at 8.  He eats again at 9:30 and every three hours thereafter.  We keep him awake for an hour after he eats and then he’s ready for a nap.  He’s gotten very used to his schedule and almost exactly an hour after he finished eating he fusses a tad until I lay him down to sleep.  He loves his schedule.

We’re going out of town this weekend and so the schedule will probably get skewed quite a bit.  I’m going to try my hardest to keep it as close to normal as possible, but I’m sure it won’t be as exact as he likes.  Which means we’ll probably have a fussier-than-usual baby on our hands.  But as soon as he’s back on schedule he’ll be back to “normal”.

What a good baby we have!

One thought on “Update

  1. 8 hours a night sounds like heaven!! Maybe Nathan can teach Iva a thing or two while they’re hanging out at Gran’s together.

Leave a Reply

