Brown Bag Burritos

I made these for dinner tonight.  I stumbled across Amy’s blog via another blog a few days ago and as soon as I saw this recipe I knew I wanted to try it.  The great thing about it is that you can alter it however you’d like!

Brown Bag Burritos

  • 2 lb. ground beef
  • 2 cans refried beans (I make my own)
  • 1 1/3 c. enchilada sauce
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/3 c. minced onion (I use dried)
  • 1 Tbsp. chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 3 c. shredded cheese (cheddar, Mexican blend, whatever)
  • 20 flour tortillas (burrito-size)

Brown ground beef.  Add remaining ingredient (except tortillas).  Cook until heated through.  Fill tortillas, roll up, wrap in a paper towel and a square of foil.  Store burritos in the freezer.  Then, just pull out a burrito when you need a quick lunch, take off the foil, and microwave.  TOO EASY!

I did a few things differently and they still turned out great.  I added a green bell pepper to the meat mixture and used only a pound of meat.  I also used mozzarella (yes, mozzarella) cheese because that’s what we had.  I made ten burritos (that’s all the tortillas I had) and prepared them for the freezer.  Turns out I bought extra-large burrito tortillas, so I didn’t get as many as the original recipe yielded.  The remaining filling was scooped into corn tortillas for a quick dinner for Craig and I.  Yummy!

Leave a Reply

