A Tribute

Tomorrow marks the end of a very special time in my life: my college “career”.  It’s been a long, stressful, eye-opening four years.  I’ve laughed, I’ve cried (more times than not), I’ve studied hours on end, I’ve stressed over things I had no business stressing over, I’ve had good grades and bad, and I’ve spent a full 7 hours in the classroom while only running on 4 ( yes, 4) hours of sleep.  All of this has led to my completing an education that has prepared me to be the best teacher I can be.  And as important as that is to me, there’s something bigger that my college experience has brought me.

An unending depth of love and appreciation for my husband.

He’s been there through it all.  He was there my freshman year when I struggled with depression.  He was there as I planned our wedding and then adjusted to being both a wife and a college student.  He was there when I had to take a summer class while 8 months pregnant in order to be able to graduate on time.  And, most importantly, he was there when I had to return to school and leave my precious Nathan at home.

This last year has been rough.  Rougher than I ever could have imagined.  Those who know me know that I almost didn’t even make it through the year.  There was a point when I was ready to drop out.  And while my reasons were good, God had other plans –  He planned for me to finish out the year.  And so Craig devoted himself to making sure this last year was as easy as it could be for me.

I was taking 18 hours of classes last semester.  On Mondays and Wednesdays I was on campus from 9am to 6pm.  I was taking my senior methods courses at this time and they required a good deal of work at home as well as at school.  This left very little time for me to spend with my family.  And so Craig talked to his boss and worked at home on Mondays and Wednesdays.  He worked late on these days in order to take a long lunch break, pick up Nathan, and meet me at school for lunch.  It may seem like a small act, but it was HUGE to me.

In addition to meeting me for lunch, Craig took care of Nathan every night while I got my lesson plans, papers, and homework finished.  And then, when I started student teaching, he stepped up even more.  He got up with Nathan during the night so that I could have as much sleep as possible to prepare for the next day.  He helped grade papers, wash dishes, do laundry, and take Nathan to doctor’s appointments.  He put up with a terribly dirty house without ever complaining.  He listened to me gripe, complain, and cry on multiple occassions.  He celebrated my good days and cheered me up on my bad days.  And tomorrow he will celebrate with me as I become a college graduate.

Tomorrow is as much his day as it is mine.  Because without him, I never would have made it.

My husband is an incredible man, a supportive husband, and a loving father.  I can’t imagine my life without him.  He provides a perfect parallel of God’s love and faithfulness and serves as a constant reminder of how blessed I truly am.

Craig Allan Moss, I love you with all of my heart and I will never forget the sacrifices you’ve made for me over the last four years.  If it wasn’t for your love, support, prayers, and patience I wouldn’t be walking that stage tomorrow.  Thank you for being exactly who God called you to be – my husband.  I love you.

Leave a Reply

