Baby #2

Okay.  You know we’re expecting Baby #2.  But I think that’s all I’ve really posted on here so far.  How about an update?

I’m 11 weeks 5 days preggo.  We had our second appointment this afternoon.  I won’t lie- it gave us a bit of a scare.  It took Lesley several minutes to find baby’s heartbeat.  He’s (yes, I said he.  I’m used to it.  Until our ultrasound, this baby will probably be referred to as a “he” simply out of habit.  Don’t shoot me) still so small and buried down in there that it took awhile to find him.  Those few minutes of hearing nothing were SOOOO stressful.  But it was so much more rewarding to hear that little heartbeat when we finally did.  Everything looks great with me and the baby.  I go back in four weeks for another checkup.

I think I’m still in a bit of shock over this baby.  He was planned, we just figured it would take longer to get pregnant.  It was so nice not to have to “try” to get pregnant, but the reality of soon being parents of two hasn’t quite kicked in yet.  I will need a double stroller.  There will be two carseats in the backseat of my car.  We will have two kids’ rooms in our house.  I’ll have a toddler running around and a newborn needing to nurse every two hours.  It will be interesting, that’s for sure.  I hope Craig’s planning on taking several weeks off.  🙂

Even already I’ve noticed how different it is being pregnant AND having a child at home.  I can’t mope on the couch when I’m sick – I still have to take care of Nathan.  It’s good because I’m less focused on myself and how miserable I feel.  But I’m also a lot more tired this time around.  I haven’t been “counting down” as much with this pregnancy.  With Nathan I knew exactly how many days until I moved into the next trimester.  Now I couldn’t tell you.  We’ve only just now started thinking about baby names, whereas with Nathan that was one of the first things I started thinking about.  It’s almost funny to think how things change between pregnancies.  It will be interesting to see what other things change once the baby arrives.

A side note – while we were at the birth center today there was a couple in for their one week checkup.  Her story was VERY familiar to mine.  We heard the baby crying/screaming and Lesley told me she was having a very hard time nursing and was in tears several times when she came in because of frustration, pain, etc.  I told her how familiar that sounded and reminded her of how I almost stopped breastfeeding in that first week because of how terrible it was.  Lesley asked if I would talk to the new mom and encourage her a bit.  So Craig and I went in to the nursing room and talked with her and her husband for a few minutes.  I hope I was able to encourage her some.  They’re a very sweet couple with an adorable little girl.

One thought on “Baby #2

Leave a Reply

