Mommy to Two

We’ve been a family of four for a week now.  A whole week. It’s hard to believe Alex has been a part of our family for that long.  It seems like just yesterday we were driving to the birth center at 3am wondering if today was the day.  In case you haven’t figured it out, it was.  And here I am, a week later, Mommy to two amazing kiddos.

A friend asked me the other day how I was adjusting to mothering two children.  To be honest, I haven’t really had time to reflect on it until now.  At times I don’t feel like I’m mothering two children.  There are moments (I’m ashamed to admit) that I’m so consumed with Alex that Nathan is “forgotten” about.  Then there are moments where Alex is asleep in her bouncer and I “forget” about her while playing with Nathan.  I guess that’s how it’s going to be for awhile.  When she’s awake she needs my (or Craig’s) full attention.  Especially when it’s time to eat.  This is when things get tricky.  We’re learning ways to occupy Nathan while I’m feeding Alex so that he usually doesn’t get too jealous.  Thankfully I have an amazing husband who is also an amazing Daddy and has taken on the responsibility of entertaining Nathan while I’m busy with Alex.  And he still manages to find time alone to bond with his little girl.

Then there are times, like this afternoon, where I wonder what I’ve gotten myself into having two kids so close in age.  We were in Best Buy this afternoon and Craig had to use the bathroom.  This left me alone with both kids for a short amount of time.  I won’t lie – it scared the heck out of me.  I had Alex in the sling and Nathan was running around the store trying to push every button in sight and pull all of the DVDs off the shelf.  Eeeek.  I’m sure you can picture me chasing him around grabbing everything he pulls off and putting it back on the shelf and trying to catch him before he pulls something else off.  All of this being done with one hand because I’m supporting Alex with the other since I’m halfway bent over to reach what Nathan can reach.  It was interesting.  And I learned my lesson:  bring the stroller. I think I succeeded in that mothering-two-children moment.  Ask the store associates.  They can probably tell you.

All in all, we’re adjusting well.  We’re finding a balance and routine to our days.  We’ve managed to keep the house clean liveable in the midst of diaper changes, feedings, playtimes, and the occasional nap.  Ask me again in a week how I’m doing and things might be different.  Craig goes back to work next week and I’ll have both kids on my own.  That’s when I just might lose it a bit.  We’ll see.  In the meantime I’m enjoying having him home all the time to help me spoil our little ones.  🙂

Leave a Reply

